Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Young Ag asking for investing advise

10,263 Views | 110 Replies | Last: 3 mo ago by AgsMyDude
ChucoAg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Thought I would come to this forum to gain some knowledge.

I am a recent grad who currently has a decent amount in my savings. But it's just in a basic savings account gaining basically nothing.

My family really never taught me all that much in investing and stuff.

I maxed out my 401k percentage and am looking into starting up my Roth IRA.

I've been told by knowledgeable friends to start a high-yield account.

My friends (this is obvious and I knew already) have also told me to start a stock portfolio and start investing an amount I'm comfortable in stocks like S&P and Berkshire.

Just looking for advice that you would tell your younger self. Don't be too harsh on me
ChucoAg
AG
Advice* jeez I hate auto correct
Charismatic Megafauna
AG
ChucoAg said:

401k percentage matching or actually maxed out (23k)?

Max 401k matching
Max roth
6mo expenses in high yield savings
Actually max 401k
Max hsa
20% of your first house in high yield savings

Then start a brokerage account if you want to start playing with your money
MyNameIsJeff
AG
Somewhat of a young ag here that wishes I had known what I know now 10 years ago when I graduated. Having children was the catalyst that got me on the right track financially.

Look up the Money Guys Financial Order of Operations and Dave Ramsey's (yeah, I know) Baby Steps 1-4 (I don't agree beyond this.). What I suggest is somewhat of a blend of these. I thin Ramit Sethi's I Will Teach You to be Rich is also a great starting point.

1. Build you a budget that is detailed enough to be useful but not so detailed that it's cumbersome or you don't track it.

2. Use a site that allows you to view all your finances in one spot. I use Empower/Personal Capital. It just makes it easy to see the big picture.