Business & Investing
Sponsored by

How do you get an 850 credit score?

12,377 Views | 50 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by AggieBarstool
The Anchor
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
DallasAggie97 said:

Do you close old cards? Did it affect your score?
After I use the points bonus I close the cards. No, it doesn't affect my score. I have 3 cards that I have had since 2004 that I maintain. All of our other cards are a year or less old.
Dale Gribble
dlp3719 said:

I worked in a bank credit group and probably saw over 10000 credit scores. Never saw an 850. A few in the 840s. Over 800 was rare really

This. I work in banking compliance and see hundreds of credit reports a year. I wouldn't necessarily call 800+ rare, but you really don't see 840+ very often.

All that being said, if you are 740+ you are getting the best rate available almost everywhere. So anything above that is just gravy (and doesn't really matter).
IrishTxAggie
AG
FbgTxAg said:

New World Ag said:

I just hit 850 late last month on my FICO when I just looked it up via AMEX. I had been hovering around 790-810 forever then in November and December I paid off a couple of balances I had been carrying that reduced my credit utilization from about 15% down to under 1%. I think having a good mix of cards, using all of them occasionally and a long credit history help. I've had my AMEX for 25 years.
I didn't think AMEX counted as a credit card and as such didn't affect your credit line. I have an AMEX Platinum Business card and it doesn't show up on my credit report.

My personal platinum shows up on my credit report.
infinity ag
Worrying about credit scores is for lolpoors who live paycheck to paycheck.
I do whatever I want but with financial responsibility. Always pay off CC monthly and loans as soon as possiible.

I have no loans. Debt free, having paid off my house too. Loan will start in about 4 years when kid goes to college.

If anyone gives me less than 850 then they can kiss my a.
ac04