Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Is an MBA worth it?

13,395 Views | 76 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by hangman
jamaggie06
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Background, I have a BS and a Masters in engineering. I'm a bit if a math nerd and love the more analytical and technical side of my job, though, I rarely get to focus on or use much of either. That said, I am aware of career trajectories and limitations thereof if I stay in a truly technical role.

I have limited (virtually zero) knowledge of even general accounting and finance practices. Would an MBA be beneficial or could I be better served through self study work on business finance and accounting? Are there alternative certifications or the like that carry any weight?

My biggest concerns with an MBA are the time requirements and cost. $40,000 and giving up my evenings and weekends for two years is a large sacrifice if the benefits aren't truly worth it.

Anyone have actual experience they care to share?
I Drink Your Milkshake
AG
Will your employer subsidize and support the decision or are you looking to move roles/companies?

I'm a CPA and did the Mays part time program in Houston and was very pleased with the decision. As an accountant I will freely admit I did not consider myself a natural leader and it helped me gain confidence to lead a team and gain confidence in public speaking situations.

The time commitment is a struggle and almost everything is done in a team so managing everyone's schedules and personal lives can be difficult. I would say to expect 15 hours a week outside of the classroom in prep.

ROI will vary with each person and the stage of their career. For me it was a four year payback in terms of salary increase and I think the A&M program runs about $80k. Curious which school you are looking at because I know Rice/UT/A&M are all near $100k now.
QBCade
AG