***** 2024 Houston Astros Season Thread ***** [Staff Warning]

3,738,880 Views | 66716 Replies | Last: 1 hr ago by An L of an Ag
BadAggie
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
If they win 60% the rest of the way that puts them at 88 to 89 wins.

I think they can get a wild card spot if so.

Harry Dunne
Ag_07 said:

And yeah JV may be difficult and throw an occasional tantrum but the dude has 100% earned that right.
I disagree. I don't think anyone ever earns the right to throw tantrums. I am a tenured pro-JV guy (as are most of us). I'm really trying to point out that I don't think he's the angel some of you think he is and I don't think Bauer is the devil some of you think he is.

TBH I'd probably be happier without Bauer. I wouldn't want any part of him if I thought we could win it all without someone like him.

I'd also have no problem getting over his past if he came in and played well. I'd be rooting for him to learn a thing or two and improve his character. I think most fans are in the same boat.
Ag4life80
AG
Yeah, 'cause narcissistic millionaires learn from their mistakes
Harry Dunne
Ag4life80 said:

narcissistic millionaires or not, I do think most people learn from their mistakes as long as the price they have to pay is high enough. But what do I know?
Farmer1906
AG
BadAggie said:

If they win 60% the rest of the way that puts them at 88 to 89 wins.

I think they can get a wild card spot if so.

I'm not sure the Rays, Royals, Red Sox, and Rangers get into the high 80s.

I also don't think the Twins and Guardians are a lock to win 90+ either. I have more confidence in them than the other 4 above.

There is a lot of season left and I think the Yankees, Os, & Mariners rosters are the best. Don't be shocked if the standings today look very different in Oct.
bearkatag15
AG
Ag_07
AG
That's a fair take. I don't agree with it but I can see your POV.

Me personally I just don't think a guy like Bauer is gonna change based on his track record.