Texas A&M Football
Sponsored by

Smith and How Jimbo Will Respond (I hope)

9,851 Views | 65 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by Jugstore Cowboy
BigSneezy
How long do you want to ignore this user?
So. I am a teacher. And I want you to know I have watched Jimbos actions with players in tense moments on the field and off the field.

Here's what I can say. He honestly cares more about the players development than he does about winning. I can't tell you how many times other coaches would have changed things but he was insistent on teaching. Growing. Developing.

I expect him to give Smith consequences for sure. But if history is a guide, he will also give the player every opportunity to learn and grow from this mistake.

Because he is a teacher. I see it in our coach. And that's what good teachers do. They don't crucify students. They teach them to do better.

So if Jimbo doesn't act like the judge and jury you would expect, recognize what his goals are and why he does this.

He's in it for growing players. If he can see any other path towards teaching him, that's the path he will choose.
rootube
AG
Maybe he's grown some but I think in the Jamis Winston situation at FSU he was light on the consequences and heavy on the let's make sure we win this title. In retrospect his decision appears to have worked out professionally and financially.
BigSneezy
rootube said:

Maybe he's grown some but I think in the Jamis Winston situation at FSU he was light on the consequences and heavy on the let's make sure we win this title. In retrospect his decision appears to have worked out professionally and financially.

I've watched him work with QB's. So many times with so many plays. QB does something stupid. Really stupid. For a whole game. Loses game. Goes right back to him the next game. And the next.

I used to think he was a bad coach. Then I realized he's not coaching to win. He's coaching to teach.
To develop. To get kids to see the way.