Texas A&M Football
Sponsored by

Son admitted to A&M - Scholarship Questions

8,706 Views | 53 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by nu awlins ag
carl spacklers hat
How long do you want to ignore this user?
HowdyTexasAggies said:

I see that rather than prove me wrong, folks resort to jabs about "your". I guess my factual statement piss some off.

I think your ill-informed opinion is what turned people off.
People think I'm an idiot or something, because all I do is cut lawns for a living.
fisherofmen
AG
Search all outside scholarship opportunities besides the standard merit options. My son had extremely high test scores and grades with all kinds of extracurricular activity and was only offered $1K/year from the school. He ended up at Ole Miss because they offered full tuition. Scholarship competition at A&M is intense.
StinkyPinky
AG
If you are a white male, forget about it
AG1996
When you fill out the FAFSA, sit back and look at it. Does it look like you need the help, if not just give up on getting anything from A&M unless your a national merit. Local A&M club, local company and organization scholarships are your best bet. Very few scholarships are based on your scholar, has to be an associated need. Basically grants with academic restrictions.
HowdyTexasAggies
AG
AggieOO said:

HowdyTexasAggies said:

If your not white, you'll prob have some success. Whitey need not apply.
maybe grammar was a bigger issue than skin color.

Mods, did my original post get too many blue stars to your liking? Why did you delete it?
Year of the Germaphobe
AG
Pell grant.

Tell your kid to look it up, and apply.

ETA: if he is renting, and living on his own he will definitely qualify. If you claimed him as a dependent on last years tax returns, the amount he receives will be a function of your household income.