Texas A&M Football
Sponsored by

T-Murph

97,396 Views | 375 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by cj774
Face
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
It's as Gumby as the nose on Plain's me?
BetaAg07
AG
Mcinnis
TexanJeff
AG
What the hell happened here, and why did people bring this up again exactly??
mgmgrand
AG
Holy...

WOW. This is my first time to see this thread.

Can't say I'm too surprised though, this just makes a lot of sense as to why it sucked being an Aggie Football fan during my childhood
stir8ag
quote:
The players all read these boards and I check them every other day or so. Remember in 2006 when the team was always saying we are playing for ourselves this team and not the university. That�s because these boards and others like it were so negative that we didn�t care about anything other than playing for the guys next to you.

I'd never seen this thread before but I played/graduated in 06 (Grant Dickey) and I think it would surprise a lot of the posters here on texags to know how often players get on these boards and how aware they are of the pulse of the fan support (or lack there of in a lot of cases).

Now that Im done playing I spend a lot more time on here because its a lot more enjoyable when the guys your reading about arent your close friends, roommates, teammates etc...

As for the Fran deal... As Dodge mentioned, his motivational skills weren't great and he could have handled some things differently to get more out of the players. In general, I always felt like the "team" aspect in the locker room was more in spite of him rather than a result of his efforts to bring everyone together. In other words, you were close to your teammates then because it was a great group of guys that cared about each other and you wanted to play for each other...not necessarily for Fran in my opinion.