The brutality of the WWII Pacific Theate

16,089 Views | 95 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by BigJim49 AustinNowDallas
Cinco Ranch Aggie
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
This is a great topic.

A couple of books I've read within the last year gave quite a vivid account of Japanese atrocities throughout the South Pacific and Indonesia, Ian Toll's Pacific Crucible and The Conquering Tide.

On a personal level, both of my grandfathers served in the US Navy in the Pacific. I have been told that my mom's dad survived two sinkings of ships that he served on (no direct verification of that as yet, but I've been digging for everything I can find on it, a difficult task given that he passed in 2002 and my mom passed in 2011). Way back after I graduated from A&M, one of the first things I bought for myself was a new car, a Toyota. I made the mistake of parking it in his driveway one day. He told me that I would need to move it right then and there, and never park it there again. His hatred for the Japs ran deep and long, as that was 1991.

Also had a neighbor who was of Chinese ancestry. His parents were the right age to have been children either during or right after WWII. They were stead-fast in their hatred of all things Japanese, and this was more recent, say about 2010 or so.
HollywoodBQ
AG
Cinco Ranch Aggie said:

Way back after I graduated from A&M, one of the first things I bought for myself was a new car, a Toyota. I made the mistake of parking it in his driveway one day. He told me that I would need to move it right then and there, and never park it there again. His hatred for the Japs ran deep and long, as that was 1991.
Good. I thought we were the only ones. Nobody in my family dare own a Japanese car. My grandfather bought Zenith televisions up until they quit manufacturing in the USA. Right before he died, he had to get a Japanese made television (because that's all there was) and it really burned him up.