1940's ford truck...lots of questions

36,508 Views | 232 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by lb3
Gigemags05
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
My uncle had an old ford truck (my aunt thinks its a 1947) for over 30 yrs that he always wanted to restore, but said he couldn't find the parts.

He died a few yrs ago, and the truck has been sitting behind their barn for a couple of yrs.

She said I can have the truck, but I just don't know much about them.

My questions:
1.) Is this thing going to be doable to rebuild? There is no real rust, its spent its entire life in the panhandle. I have rebuilt a jeep cj and am helping a guy with his 79 scout, so I have some experience, although I am by no means an expert and I haven't tackled anything this old

2.) How hard are parts to come by? I did a search on rock auto and there seemed to be a decent amount of parts, but I am not sure if there are things that will be really hard to find or not.

3.) I would most likely buy a new engine and transmission to swap into the truck, but not necessarily. Does anyone know anything about the engine pictured?

4.) anyone know anything else about these old trucks that might be useful? I have always wanted a classic truck, and this one has some family history so I thought it'd be cool.

I signed up on the ford truck forum, but the registration email hasn't come yet and the classic truck forum is pretty slow. Does anyone know of any other forums that I could look at?
Silvy
AG
Classic sections on make specific forums are usually pretty slow.

I'd join a forum that's exclusively classic vehicles, I can't think of many off the top of my head. I think that H.A.M.B. is a good one.
Kdenhead
AG
Options galore. Could leave patina and use old frame, add new IFS and 4 link in rear. Do a ls swap for engine.

Family connection to vehicle is special. Make it the kind of ride you will enjoy!
Gigemags05
AG