Outdoors
Sponsored by

How to tell coyote v fox?

11,472 Views | 32 Replies | Last: 9 yr ago by SanAntoneAg
Aries
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Might be a dumb question but I'm new to this kind of stuff.

Just watched 2, what I think are coyotes, stalk a group of 11 deer in my front pasture for about 10 minutes. However there hasn't been a visual on coyotes in quite some time, according to my father in-law, who has lived out on the land for 25+ years. Foxes have been caught in little traps occasionally so I am surprised to see 2 coyotes all of the sudden. I've also seen a fox around our pool at night.

Is size the main thing? I think these were too big to be a fox & I'm assuming foxes don't stalk deer.

Be kind to me guys....I'm learning! & I know, google is my friend, but you guys have more 1st had knowledge.

No high fence. No I didn't shoot them.
Log
AG
I call BS (no offense intended) on there being no coyotes there. Even if they aren't seen, they are there. I've had them outside of my house in the middle of Plano on multiple occasions, so I can guarantee they are out in the country.

Fox weigh maybe 10 pounds soaking wet. Coyotes will be 20+, even on a day they haven't eaten.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gray_fox

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coyote
ShaggyAggie01
AG
Coyotes and foxes are both pretty much everywhere. Never seen two foxes stalking together, so coyotes are my guess.
Aries
It has always been assumed coyotes are still around on the land. It is just that one hasn't been spotted in a long time & then two pop up today. My father in law hasn't even caught one on his game camera.

I need to get some binoculars & a game camera. I'm interested to see what else we have walking around here.