Embarrassing RE Oppenheimer - a cautionary tale

20,245 Views | 257 Replies | Last: 11 mo ago by davec81
LMCane
How long do you want to ignore this user?
and I can guarantee that MAX,

maybe 15% of Americans under the age of 30 could accurately tell you what in what decade World War II took place

and the same number might know which countries were in the Axis and which the Allies.

It would likely only be 10% of the population would know the correct answer.

look who we have as the TWO major party candidates in a country of 330 million people for 2020 and 2024!!
CanyonAg77
AG
BoydCrowder13 said:

Anything I know about Oppenheimer or the Manhattan Project is self taught. And I was a huge history nerd in high school and college.

To be fair to your daughter and her Nazi scientist comment, we did recruit a significant amount of German scientists for the Manhattan project and space race. Though only some were former Nazis.

You're kind of confusing two different things. After WWII, yes, we rushed to scoop up Nazi scientists in rocketry and every other field, pretty much by force.

The MP scientists weren't nabbed in the same way. Many of the leading scientists in physics in the 30s and 40s were German Jews, and fled when Hitler came to power.

They came to the MP because they thought Hitler was working to get The Bomb, and they desperately wanted to beat him to it. When the war in Europe ended, many of them wanted to stop work, and not use the bomb on Japan
CanyonAg77
AG
davec81 said:

fasthorse05 said:

Leslie Groves was always my favorite.

THE most important man in the Manhattan Project (imo).

The guy who built the Pentagon on time and under budget
CanyonAg77
AG
Agree that Little Boy was not tested because the design was simple and they believed it would work

Disagree about the TVA. It was created in 1933, long before the MP. The Uranium lab was put at Oak Ridge because the TVA was already there with lots of electricity
GeorgiAg
AG
Dorm 15 said:

Why Los Alamos?