IKEA plant bullying experiment

3,123 Views | 50 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by schmendeler
PacifistAg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Ikea Asked Kids to Bully One Plant and Compliment Another for a Month to See What Would Happen

Assuming all other things, such as water, light, etc. were administered equally, this is actually quite fascinating. I'm no scientist, so perhaps some here who are more knowledgeable could point out flaws in this. My gut wants to say that this seems like a stretch.

“Conquer men by your gentle kindness, and make zealous men wonder at your goodness. Put the lover of justice to shame by your compassion."
--St Isaac the Syrian
Martin Q. Blank
When the bullied plant started to fade, they should have reversed the signs. Start complimenting it and see if it comes back and the other one faded.
Win At Life
AG
They put up signs with different words, but never made any claims that the audio affected the plants. I'm guessing the plants were not watered equally, because the "experiment" was more of a "demonstration" on the kids than it was as a true scientific experiment on the plants. And to that end the demonstration seems to have made a positive impact on the kids. Slightly deceptive, but hardly more deceptive than telling kids the car won't start unless they put their seatbelts on.
Frok
AG
My favorite is when bullies bully bullies about bullying

PacifistAg
AG
Frok said:

Ah, yes. That immediately reminded me of the video went viral about a dad who, in response to his son being kicked off the bus for 3 days for bullying, forced the boy to run to school in the rain then posted the video online. Or the mom who shaved her daughter's hair for making fun of a cancer patient.
“Conquer men by your gentle kindness, and make zealous men wonder at your goodness. Put the lover of justice to shame by your compassion."
--St Isaac the Syrian
Post removed:
by user
Post removed:
by user
Star Wars Memes Only
RetiredAg said:

Frok said: