How come many Aggies don't like Ol Sarge?

14,449 Views | 67 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by The Dog Lord
BleacherRat
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Full disclosure, I didn't go to Texas A&M in College Station. However, I am an Army veteran of the Big Red One and have always been an Aggie fan since the 70's. Here's my question: I have read threads over the years here on TexaAgs that seem to indicate there is no love for Ol Sarge. Why is that???I think it would be a great marketing image for the school. I think it's a lot more feasible than say a cow with horns (ugh).

I think we need to try and make Ol Sarge popular again. I also think if someone can't like Ol Sarge, they must be from some communist country. Just my 2 cents.

Gig 'em!
FriscoKid
AG
Ol Sarge is cool. Way better than this.

MooreTrucker
AG
I think tons of Aggies love Ol' Sarge. The ones that don't are the marketing department. Toxic masculinity and military and all that.
Dr.Rumack
No bevel, do like!
hph6203
AG
He interferes with my feminist identity.
powerbelly
AG

Quote:

I think it's a lot more feasible than say a cow with horns (ugh).

I hope you don't do marketing for a living
MooreTrucker
AG
powerbelly said:

Quote:

I rest my case.
BleacherRat
hph6203 said:

He interferes with my feminist identity.
OK, I think I'm beginning to see the problem here.
Gig 'em!
powerbelly
AG
MooreTrucker said:

powerbelly said:

Quote:

I rest my case.
I love Ol' Sarge, but to act like a longhorn isn't a great mascot to market is just foolish.
BleacherRat
powerbelly said:

Quote:

I hope you aren't a t.u. troll..
Gig 'em!
powerbelly
AG
LewP said:

powerbelly said:

Quote:

I actually attended A&M. It seems you are the more likely tu troll here.
concac
AG
LewP said:

powerbelly said:

Quote:

You're not even an Aggie!!!
expresswrittenconsent
I dont dislike it. I'm pretty sure I have one or two t-shirts with ol sarge.
But objectively, it's not a very good logo. The cartoon potato head is the big issue.