Googling during jury selection

6,045 Views | 55 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by TXicanMafia
KidDoc
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I have been summoned twice so far and when I arrived they had already cancelled or filled.

Getting jury duty would be a huge mess for me at work. I get paid for what I do so if I am not in clinic those patients do not get seen and I do not get paid. A prolonged trial would be a huge expense to myself and the group I work for. Super annoying but I doubt that I would ever be selected anyway. Even taking the 1/2 day or full day is pretty annoying and costly.
No material on this site is intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. See full Medical Disclaimer.
uneedastraw
It was a big pain for me and I'm not a doctor. At the time, I worked as an independent contractor and so my work is travel and a week at a time. So I couldn't schedule that week which was a $6k revenue loss. I've been called 3 times. 2 times I show up and they take my name and dismiss me. 3rd time I get selected to hear the masturbating indecent exposure case, get selected, come back the next day, wait for 6 hours in a room because supposedly the previous trial had not ended and then finally get called into the courtroom at 3pm. After all that, the accuser that accused the guy of masturbating didn't show up to court. Without his testimony, there was no case. So the charges were dropped. So I never got to hear the full details of the case and I wasted 2 days and lost $6k.

But the poor guy who got accused had to probably spend $50k in attorney fees, he had accepted a law enforcement job of some sort before the accusation and his offer was rescinded due to the charge, he suffered the humiliation of being trotted out in front and had to face 35 potential jurors where all the males chuckled joked and laughed and all the females were disgusted about his case.....so I guess it could have been worse.
91_Aggie
AG