Texas A&M Football

The Top 8 Texas A&M Football moments, as chosen by the 12th Man

July 23, 2019

To commemorate the 125th season of Aggie Football, Texas A&M is hosting a vote to determine which moment over the last century-plus is the best. The vote is now down to the final eight moments and you can cast your vote for which you think is best in the history of A&M Football at either 12thMan.com/125 or on Twitter.


Quarterfinals matchup No. 1

Sirr Parker’s TD run to win Big 12 title (1998) 

Though Texas A&M was a two-touchdown underdog in the Big 12 Championship Game, the Aggies came back from an eight-point fourth-quarter deficit to force overtime. Trailing 33-30 in the second overtime period, the Aggies faced third-and-17 at the 32-yard line. Quarterback Branndon Stewart hit running back Sirr Parker on a slant. Parker ran through one attempted tackle, veered right and outran another K-State defender to the pylon for a touchdown that lifted the Aggies to the Big 12 championship.

Brian Gamble’s fumble recovery to beat Texas (1999)

The Aggies held a 20-16 lead late in the fourth quarter against Texas, but the Longhorns had driven from their own 11 to the A&M 45-yard line in the final minute. The previous year, Texas quarterback Major Applewhite had led the Longhorns on a game-winning last-minute drive, and the Kyle Field crowd was concerned he might do it again. This time, however, Jay Brooks sacked Applewhite and forced a fumble, which linebacker Brian Gamble recovered to clinch an emotional victory. Gamble then struck an iconic pose as he reached skyward from knees in recognition of 12 Aggies who had perished in the Bonfire tragedy days before.

Quarterfinals matchup No. 2

Johnny Manziel’s TD against Bama (2012)

Already holding a 7-0 first-quarter lead, the Aggies were facing third-and-goal at the Alabama 10-yard line. Manziel dropped back to pass and was moving in the pocket when he bumped into right guard Cedric Ogbuehi. That contact made him lose the football for a split second. He quickly regained control, rolled left and then located a wide-open Ryan Swope in the end zone for a touchdown that staked A&M to a 14-0 lead. The play prompted announcer Verne Lundquist to exclaim: “Oh my gracious! How about that!"

2-Point conversion to beat LSU (2018)

The most recent moment on the list comes from the Aggies’ 74-72 seven-overtime victory over LSU at Kyle Field. After a touchdown pass to Quartney Davis in the seventh overtime, the Aggies set up to go for two and take their first victory over the Bayou Bengals since joining the SEC. Mond rolled right, fired back across the middle to find Kendrick Rogers in the back of the endzone and sending Kyle Field into bedlam.

Quarterfinals matchup No. 3

John David Crow winning the Heisman (1957)

At 6-2, 220 pounds, the Louisiana native John David Crow was especially big for his day and his accomplishments matched his physical stature. He was a powerful two-way player that was just as adept on either side of the line of scrimmage. A two-time All-Southwest Conference selection, Crow was named All-American in 1957 and won the Heisman Trophy. That year he rushed for 562 yards and six touchdowns, threw five touchdown passes and intercepted five passes. 

Wrecking Crew stuffs Bo Jackson 4 times (1986)

Early in the fourth quarter of the Cotton Bowl, the Aggies held a 21-16 lead. However, the Auburn Tigers had driven from their own 6-yard line to the A&M 6 and threatened to take the lead. Three plays later, Auburn had fourth-and-goal from the 2-yard line. The Tigers opted to go for the touchdown and looked to Heisman Trophy-winning running back Bo Jackson. He took the fourth down handoff and was quickly hit by linebacker Basil Jackson, then A&M defenders immediately converged as Bo was dropped for a one-yard loss. The Aggies also stopped Jackson on another fourth-down run on Auburn’s next series and went on to post a 36-16 victory.

Quarterfinals matchup No. 4

Birth of the 12th Man (1922) 

Though he didn’t actually wear the No. 12, E. King Gill is the most iconic 12th Man ever after he started the tradition during the 1922 Dixie Classic. Gill, a former manager stood at the ready on the sideline, ready to enter the game should he be called upon.

John Kimbrough leading A&M to Sugar Bowl and National Title (1940)

The Aggies are 11-0 and looking to validate the 1939 national championship. However, they’re trailing 13-7 late in the fourth quarter. That’s when the Aggies launch a clutch 69-yard drive that Jarrin’ John Kimbrough, the “Haskell Hurricane,” caps by taking a pitch from Herbie Smith, who had caught a pass from quarterback Cotton Price, and races 18 yards into the end zone to complete a 24-yard play and lift the Aggies to a 14-13 Sugar Bowl victory over Tulane. Kimbrough scores both touchdowns and rushes for 159 yards for the national champion Aggies.

Click here to vote on your favorites.

Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.