Tachycardia & Covid

2,938 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by eric76
lil99chris
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Tested positive today and have an elevated heart rate (105-115). I had a blood clot issue about 7 years ago. Should I go to the ER to get a work up to make sure everything is ok?
Kendall Rogers
AG
if it persists, i definitely would. my nephew's heart rate sat at 110-115 for several hours -- and he was fine after that. it was his body's way of fighting off the virus. but that's just one anecdote.
Cloud
I am not a doctor and you should not take my advice, but generally when I run a fever my heart rate is elevated. Apple Watch these days just allows me to quantify it.

That said, I would certainly double check with a doc.
Cloud
gunan01
AG
You should go to the ER
ChampsAg
Heart issues after Covid seem to be common.

I had an ablation for atrial fibrillation 18 months ago. No problems since then. Test positive for Covid December 27, went back into AFib January 2.

Have heard others with previous AFib have had the same issue.

Second ablation scheduled for this week to get me out of it.
Dr. Not Yet Dr. Ag
While I can't say definitively what you should do as I have not evaluated you or know your medical history, mild tachycardia alone is not a reason to go to an ER. ERs are for medical emergencies. If you are experiencing symptoms that you believe are a medical emergency, then go. However, don't go to an ER just because your watch tells you your HR is slightly above 100 or because you have high blood pressure when you have no symptoms. Those are not issues that need an emergency work up.

Symptoms of a pulmonary embolism are shortness of breath, typically worsened by exertion, chest pain (typically gets worse with breathing), lightheadedness, and sometimes fainting.
No material on this site is intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. See full Medical Disclaimer.
bigtruckguy3500
Dr. Not Yet Dr. Ag said: