Some commentary I ran across:
" Items (d) through (i) below deal with step balks:
(d) Official Baseball Rule 6.02(a)(3) requires the pitcher, while touching the pitcher's plate, to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base. If a pitcher turns or spins off of his free foot without actually stepping, or if he turns his body and throws before stepping, it is a balk.
NOTE: The pitcher is required to step directly toward a base when feinting a throw to a base. (Under current rules, the only base a pitcher may feint to is second.) Umpires should indicate balks called under Official Baseball Rule 6.02(a)(3) (no step) by slapping the side of their leg after calling the balk. This indicates the balk is for failure to step directly towards a base.
(e) A manager, coach, or player may not come onto the field or leave his position to protest the call of a balk as defined in Official Baseball Rule 6.02(a)(3) (failure to step directly towards a base before throwing there). If such protest is made, the manager, coach, or player shall be ejected from the game.
(f) A manager may come out and question the reason for a balk call (other than a step balk) and shall not be ejected for his visit to learn why the balk was called. The manager may be ejected if he argues the call after explanation.
(g) If a pitcher, while touching the pitcher's plate, jumps into the air with both feet simultaneously and his non-pivot foot lands in a step towards first base before he throws to that base, he has made a legal move.
(h) Under the changes made to the Official Baseball Rules for 2013, the pitcher, while in contact with the rubber, may no longer fake a throw to third base (in addition to not being allowed to fake to first base). This rule change outlaws the so-called "Third-to-First Move."
The pitcher is still allowed to fake a throw to second base while in contact with the rubber provided that he steps towards second.
Note that a pitcher, when faking a throw to second base, is not required to have arm motion in the fake, although a legal step is required.
The pitcher, of course, may properly disengage the rubber and then fake to any base. The pitcher is considered an infielder after he properly disengages the rubber. See Official Baseball Rule 6.02(a)(2) and the Comments to Official Baseball Rule 6.02(a)(3)."
From:
https://baseballrulesacademy.com/official-rule/mlb-umpire-manual/balk-regulations/