SMP at TAMU

2,667 Views | 4 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by Trinity Ag
G.W_Busch
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
May not be the right place for the question. But I graduated last August and didn't do the Corps, which is my biggest regret to date. I applied for a 2nd degree and plan on coming back next year, but first I'm joining the Army Reserves and hoping to do the SMP program. Anyone know the shortest amount of time I can do the SMP before being able to commission as an officer?
CT'97
AG
If you already have the degree why go SMP?
Just apply for an OCS program and get your commission and start your career. You are going to have a hard enough time scheduling OCS and OBC. Unless there is some sort of financial benefit to the SMP program that I'm not aware of.
Agvet12
AG
G.W_Busch said:

May not be the right place for the question. But I graduated last August and didn't do the Corps, which is my biggest regret to date. I applied for a 2nd degree and plan on coming back next year, but first I'm joining the Army Reserves and hoping to do the SMP program. Anyone know the shortest amount of time I can do the SMP before being able to commission as an officer?

Simple. Just go to OCS... Why go back just to say "I did it", suck it up go to OCS. Uncle Sam doesn't care where you went to school or what degree you have.
AGhistorian
I agree OCS is probably the best option. Doing SMP really means doing Basic Training and then ROTC, which will take about 3 years, 2.5 if you can really get it scheduled perfectly. If you are interested in going active duty I don't think SMP will do much for you. SMP experiences are really mixed, if you end up getting attached to a crappy reserve unit that doesn't do much it's a bad experience. If you are attached to a high speed reserve unit they may be so busy they don't have time to mentor an SMP cadet and just make you another Joe which really defeats the purpose.