Deployment first timer

8,495 Views | 47 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by bufrilla
Green2Maroon
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm an OIF 1 veteran, 2003-2004, so my experience may not be totally relevant to today. I was 18 when I deployed to Iraq and 20 when I came back.

If I were to advise my 18 y/o self at 34, the number one thing is take it seriously. You are a soldier in a combat zone. More than 4,000 US troops have died in Iraq as of now, 2019. You may be young but you have far more responsibility than the average dip**** your age back in the states. Show your seniors, peers, and subordinates who you are. Be a man. If responsibility and professionalism ever counts, the time is now.

It has been almost 15 years since I left Iraq, and I could go on and on about those days, I went on to leave active duty as a 22 year old E-5, but I should have been more mature and responsible.
GAC06
AG
Good advice but I don't think she will be a man
Green2Maroon
AG
Whoops, I was not aware of Pirate04's gender.
Seven Costanza
AG
She's also like 32-33 years old.
Green2Maroon
AG
Probably more prepared than I was then. I would be a lot better off deploying in my thirties than I was at eighteen.
tamc1956ag
S
Neither did bruce jenner
bigtruckguy3500
Seven Costanza said:

She's also like 32-33 years old.
You don't say... Op and I are the same age...

Also, this thread has been helpful. Thank you for all the advice. I'm slated to "deploy" to Okinawa later this year. If anyone has an Oki specific advice I'd love to hear it. Gotta make sure I get me an Aggie flag for sure.
Pirate04
AG
Hey friends! I haven't checked this forum in a while and just saw all the awesome comments. I actually move out within the next 48 hours and I couldn't be more ready. Mobilization has been...well, Mob. Anyone who has been to NFH or Sill will understand.