Advice needed for my Son in ROTC

2,013 Views | 13 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by Aggiehunter34
Aggiehunter34
How long do you want to ignore this user?
S
I will try to keep this short as I can. My son is a Sr at Alabama and just graduated this past weekend. He received a AFROTC scholarship and I was stationed in Columbus, MS at the time and they gave in-state tuition (He still bleeds maroon and white). He has been a stellar cadet winning Distinguished Grad at field training, 3.7 GPA, 99.8 on PT Test, and was fortunate enough to get a pilot slot last year. His dream has been to be a pilot as long as I can remember. I am a 22 year AF veteran myself. In July of last year my son got diagnosed with malignant melanoma and it was removed and all borders cleared. He was given a 99.8% chance of this never occurring again by multiple providers. He had to get genetic tested and that came back great. My wife and I got tested and examined and both cleared. The AF granted a waiver for clearance into the AF, but would have to go through flying side to get cleared for pilot slot.

Long story short, his scholarship money was taken back in January and we had to repay his last semester tuition. He was removed from the Cadet Commander position and forced to go into voluntary status. He never waivered and showed up for PT and class every day without question. Once he got the waiver we started working to get his flight physical and we were told his slot was given to someone else. He could have a RPA (Remotely Piloted Aircraft) position which is a rated position, or whatever the AF gives him. He chose whatever the AF gives him with the idea he could apply for a pilot slot in December since that was the next board.