Stolen Valor question

3,165 Views | 27 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by champagnepapi
proc
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I am no expert, but see a gentleman wearing an acu uni with a 1st Cav patch on his left shoulder, and a 10th Mountain patch on his right shoulder.
Something is not quite right here?
chickencoupe16
AG
Like you, I'm no expert, but I believe that would mean he had a combat deployment with the 10th Mountain but is currently with the 1st Cav. I know this is acceptable in ACUs and assume it is in Bs as well, but I don't know.
proc
AG
That is one place where I am wrong for sure, he is in acus.
JABQ04
AG
Going off the info you've provided it is correct. Currently serving in the 1st Cav and previous deployment with 10 MTN. Nothing wrong with that. The best of us deploy with 10th MTN.
74OA
AG
So how long can someone wear the patch of an outfit they deployed with, but aren't assigned to, after that deployment?
JABQ04
AG
74OA said:

So how long can someone wear the patch of an outfit they deployed with, but aren't assigned to, after that deployment?

Forever
74OA
AG
So always look on the left shoulder to determine what outfit a guy is currently with?
JABQ04
AG
Correct. Left sleeve is current unit or SSI (shoulder sleeve insignia) and right side is SSI - FWTS (shoulder sleeve insignia - former wartime service) or what is commonly known as the "combat patch".

This only pertains to the Army BTW. Other branches don't seem to wear unit or affiliation patches from what I've seen
74OA
AG
.....which is why it is a curiosity to this AF retiree. Thanks.
Pro Sandy
AG
JABQ04 said:

This only pertains to the Army BTW. Other branches don't seem to wear unit or affiliation patches from what I've seen
For the Navy,

Though authorized for commands on the NWUs and coveralls, I've only been at one command that had command patches.

For Khakis, your name tag might have a command logo on it. Command dependent.