Protesting BCAD Values?

2,261 Views | 16 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by valtosca
Pendragon12
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Just closed on a new house. I want to protest as BCAD's appraisal is more than what I paid. I know they're technically different, but house has some issues BCAD likely didn't take into account.

How can I protest? I don't have the required info to submit online since I didn't own when the letters went out. And I can't seem to find any info whatsoever about sending a letter or doing so in person on the website. Can I even protest this year or do I have to wait? Thanks for any help.
p_bubel
Show up at the office and sign up for a protest.

Should be fairly easy. Show photos of why the house is in below average condition and bring the appraisal if it supports your case. Also the contract.

You should be able to protest as I think I did mine a month or two after I got my place. (but I'm no expert)
Halconblack
AG
p_bubel said:

Should be fairly easy. Show photos of why the house is in below average condition and bring the appraisal if it supports your case. Also the contract.

Photos are the best way to do this. I protest every year with the same photos and it is the easiest way for the adjuster to help you.
v/r
Pendragon12
AG
Thanks all.
valtosca
AG
Mail or Fax this form in. You can call customer service to confirm receipt.

http://www.bcad.org/data/_uploaded/file/PDFs/NOTICE%20OF%20PROTEST_3_20_18.pdf

Protest on "Incorrect appraised (market) value" and "Value is unequal compared to other properties".

Add the following statement in Section 4: "Please send comps for 'Incorrect appraised (market) value' and 'Value is unequal compared to other properties'"

You'll be mailed comps that you can use in addition to the photos and advice from above. You'll also be sent your informal meeting and potential ARB meeting time. It really is worth the time and effort. This is the only tax you can negotiate. Good luck!

Fax numbers: