Home Improvement
Sponsored by

Re caulking a shower

1,942 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by JP76
aggiegolf86
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Located in Cs. looking for a recommendation to get this done or is it pretty easy to do? i have never done something like this before. Our current caulk is moldy or coming off.
Cromagnum
AG
Apparently it's hard to do it right because I have recaulked mine 3x and it comes back moldy everytime despite cleaning the hell out of it first and using caulk that it not suppose to mold.
AtticusMatlock
It's very easy. There are some great Youtube tutorials.
Aggie71013
AG
This is my experience. Caulk that's not supposed to mold for 10 years does it in a fraction of that
JP76
Tile shower ?

Cultured marble ?
1988PA-Aggie
'Caulking' is a unrecognized form of art. A nice caulk job doesn't get recognized much. But look at some convenience store or airport bathrooms and you will see some of the worst caulk jobs in the world.

If you are somewhat particular, and have a decent hand, you can do it yourself and achieve a good result. If it is not good, you can always wipe it away (before it dries) and start over. Like Atticus said, YouTube is a great start.

Realize there is a vast difference between standard caulk and sealant. You can pick up a tube of latex (water clean up) caulk for about $2-3. This is the type that should be used to fill molding gaps on a rental property, nothing more. Your best product is a sealant that may cost $10-15, perhaps more. This will be a silicone based product that while a bit smelly, is a far superior product for wet environments. Most clean up with denatured alcohol or acetone. But I am sure you can find some hybrid types that are water clean up.

Southlake
Just remember if you ask for caulk at the store, make sure and slowly pronounce the L…
aggiegolf86
AG
JP76 said:

Tile shower ?

Cultured marble ?
I think its Cultured marble. Not tile
mts6175
AG