Electrical Wiring Job , Barn/shop question on Quote

9,261 Views | 27 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by Dr. Doctor
rjhtamu
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm looking to have my metal building/barn/shop wired.
Nothing fancy, just outlets along the interior, one 220V, and for 10 LED light fixtures, a couple of three way light switches.
It's an 80x40 building, or 3200sqft.

The bid I've gotten is $5/sq ft or $16,000 for 2 days worth of work. This immediately seemed excessive to me. For instance, it cost about $20,000 to wire my house which was a far more complex 2 week job.
There's also a lot more "empty space" to the sq ft in a barn rather than a house.

I asked the electrician about this and his response was the cost of the wiring was much greater in a shop than an insulated house and materials alone were half the cost, and then labor and profit obviously.

I'm no electrician, but I was thinking the job would be $4000-$7000 in that range.

Any thoughts or feedback on if this is a fair price range or unreasonable?
I have another bid to get next week.
GE
AG
See if he will itemize it for you. What materials are needed and at what price. How many guys for how many days and you can back into the labor piece.
Long Live Sully
AG
That price is crazy. Even if he is putting all the wiring in conduit it sounds at least double or even triple what it should be. How far is it from the building to the electrical supply?

hillcountryag86
AG
Good point. Is power already to the barn?

If that quote is only for wiring the barn, that price is extremely high.

Make him itemize his quote so you can research, or get rid of him.
drummer0415
AG
In order of price for both materials and the labor to install, wiring can be:

Romex
MC cable
Conduit

Your house is Romex. For the barn he probably priced as conduit or MC. That's going to be a big factor right there.