Real Estate
Sponsored by

Selling, When to Drop Price

3,369 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 3 mo ago by warreng
Ogre09
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I've had my house on the market 3 weeks. Have had a dozen showings and no offers yet. I'm at $330k now for a 2200 sq ft, which looks good on the comps sheet.

I haven't sold a house before, and my realtor isn't being super helpful with strategy. How long should I wait before dropping it? How much should I drop it? Should I try to get under filter cutoff points ($299k to get under $300k)? I'm thinking I shouldn't drop too much too early, but also shouldn't drop it a lot of times in small increments either. I'd take an offer at $300k now, but am thinking I could do a little better than that.
Jason_Roofer
It's been a while but…..why are YOU asking these questions? I'm a licensed Realtor but I'm not active right now so take this with a bowl of salt. I can say that you are asking all the stuff I used to discuss with my clients without them having to ask. There are some great Realtors on here that will have good advice but my first decision at this point is "how long do I keep my Realtor" if all those other questions are coming up. I'd say…maybe consider another Realtor.
SoTheySay
S
What's the showing feedback?
Average days on market?

I'm not telling you whether to reduce or not but these will affect what I'd suggest.
CS78
Im not saying to drop it or how much, but any drop will trigger a fresh email to potential buyers. And those emails are what bring you more showings. I tend to do a lot of small drops, for this reason.

jja79
AG
How badly do you need to sell?
Ogre09
AG
Yes, these are things I expect the realtor to be telling me. I had a couple of good buying experiences with her, but not loving what I'm getting on as a seller so far. I'm working on that.

Of the 10 sold comps she shared, the median time to sell is 30 days and the mean is 47. There 2 two at less than a week and 2 over 100 days.