Real Estate
Sponsored by

Quiet around here.

2,844 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by KDubAg
2002reb
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
This board seems particularly quiet these days, perhaps the real estate party is coming to an end? Maybe market uncertainty and rate hikes are starting to take its toll? What say you?
carl spacklers hat
Uncertain interest rate environment, plus a slowing economy, likely culprits for drop in RE activity. Even though interest rates are still extremely low vs historical norms.
People think I'm an idiot or something, because all I do is cut lawns for a living.
GunRangeGal
AG
Everybody is too busy trying to put in offers to post.
CS78
Im in a holding pattern. Have a couple houses I'd like to sell and use the funds to cancel out some variable rate loans. But nobody is moving and I'm not kicking out good tenants.

And, as nice as the value increases look, I'm not excited about donating a chunk of it to the gubmint.

So I'll just wait and see.
Diggity
AG
this board is actually quite a bit more active than it has been historically.

besides posting ugly houses, you'll usually have topics stay dormant on Page 1 for an eternity.
one MEEN Ag
AG
2002reb said:

This board seems particularly quiet these days, perhaps the real estate party is coming to an end? Maybe market uncertainty and rate hikes are starting to take its toll? What say you?
There's a couple of streets in my area that I monitor on HAR for listing and would jump on an opportunity to move to. One came available recently. A year ago I would've leveraged nearly everything to make the move. Barely even made an effort to drive by the house last week. Interest rate spike compared to what I've got now (2%, 15 year) would mean my interest payment would jump upwards of $1,000 a month. Just in interest. Any tax advantage I would have gained by moving to a street with lower tax rates would have been nullified by my interest spike.