Real Estate
Sponsored by

Buying land in 401k

3,443 Views | 15 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by Maroon Saloon
bhanacik
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Anyone have any experience in purchasing land in a self directed 401k? I've been doing some research and would like to hear of anyone that has gone through the process
Rice and Fries
Interested.
tx1c
AG
I have no experience with it, but I used to work in retirement plans.
The annual filings require assets to be valued; this may require an annual appraisal.
380sl
401k or self-directed IRA? Wife and I both use Equity Trust for our self-directed IRAs. Have purchased minerals, invested in private equity, purchased office buildings, etc. It's pretty easy once you get the account set-up. Never had to supply a 3rd party appraisal/valuation, just supply our own numbers to the custodian.
bhanacik
AG
I was originally thinking 401k, but after a little more research it looks like it may need to be a self-directed IRA as the 401k route seems to only be for self employed single participants
Bitter Old Man
AG
Again, not an expert, but I'm pretty sure the rule is that you cant individually benefit from the land held by the IRA, i.e. you can't hunt on it, or live on it, etc...
14TheRoad
AG
Bitter Old Man said:

Again, not an expert, but I'm pretty sure the rule is that you cant individually benefit from the land held by the IRA, i.e. you can't hunt on it, or live on it, etc...

What if you leased it to your buddies and hunted with them as a guest?
Bitter Old Man
AG
Eminus6 said:

Bitter Old Man said:

Well, you're dancing with tax fraud there. I'm not a lawyer, so I have no idea the implications (if any) of that.
South Platte
tx1c said:

I have no experience with it, but I used to work in retirement plans.
The annual filings require assets to be valued; this may require an annual appraisal.