Real Estate
Sponsored by

Anyone ever appealed real estate tax value to district court? Specifically HCAD

3,101 Views | 10 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by tamutaylor12
pdawg10384
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm not happy with the results of my formal hearing with HCAD. I suppose my next step would be filing suit in district court? That's what the letter from HCAD says. Anyone have experience with this or able to offer advice? Would I have to file at the district court downtown on Caroline?
Martin Q. Blank
That would cost a lot of money I would think. Unless the savings you would get from your taxes is substantial (multi-million dollar house). The other option is binding arbitration. You get your $500 back if the arbitrator's number is closer to yours than HCAD.
Hanrahan
AG
I've done it for my folks. But I'm an attorney, so it didn't cost them anything. They were fighting for a multiple six figure reduction though, so it made it worth my time to help them.

I had no idea what I was doing, but scrapped some pleadings together from some friends at firms that do it. I wouldn't say it is all that difficult per se, but isn't really something a non attorney could handle on their own.

Unless you are looking at a large possible reduction, I don't think it would be worth the cost for you to hire an attorney. But admittedly, I have no idea what one would charge you to handle, but I doubt it would be super cheap.
Copp
Binding arbitration is a cheaper option. The problem is, the county is involved in so many binding arbitration cases, they know which arbitrators they want to use. You typically have no clue who the arbitrator is. Suffice it to say, you do not want the arbitrator if the county wants the arbitrator. You can request the assigned arbitrator to be changed I believe
pdawg10384
AG
I would be comfortable doing it myself. Hanrahan, do you have to file at the couthouse downtown? Did I see it costs about $200 to file?
Diggity
AG