Story Poster
Texas A&M Women's Basketball

Gary Blair ready to 'rock and roll' as No. 23 Texas A&M begins SEC play

December 29, 2021

Key notes from Gary Blair interview

• There are so many more people that are more deserving that haven't gotten into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. I would be honored to be inducted, even if it's 25 years from now. That's the granddaddy of them all, but I'm very fortunate to be in the Hall of Fames that I am in. It's all about the great administrators, coaches and players. I've been at very, very good schools, starting at South Oak Cliff. I've been coaching for 50 years, and I'm a product of Title IX.

• We just had a conference call about SEC play starting this week, and it was the most interesting hour and 15 minutes. There are a number of coaches preparing for their first SEC game. I sprinted here and avoided the train coming across the tracks.

• The reset has been the nine days between games and what the student-athletes, coaches and fans have been through for two years now. There will be a lot of books and documentaries written about COVID-19. Most of us were lucky to go home and see our families for the holidays, but not all of our kids got to see their families. We had three kids in quarantine. One young lady had to be here, in quarantine and on social media through Christmas. That's tough.

• I drove to Fayetteville to spend three days with my kids there. I came back to College Station on Dec. 27, and it's time to rock and roll. That's how fast the break has been, and our kids have come back with a great frame of mind. They understood the safety precautions. They've been doing things to keep themselves safe.

• We have 14 players on the roster, and we will have at least 12 players ready to play on Thursday night. We're ready to rock and roll.