Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Indexed universal life insurance policies

1,493 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by Joseph in Cypress
valvemonkey91
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I am a financial novice. I've maxed out 401K for 30yrs and have a pension from an oil company. Looking at a 4yr retirement date. I was just introduced to this financial vehicle. Was wanting some input from some of the experts here. YouTube videos abound (both pro and con. Dave Ramsey isn't a fan but videos say he has a misunderstanding of the his concept.

Any folks on here have experience with this as a retirement vehicle?

Claims abound that it is better than a Roth and you never lose your principle as they leverage your contribution's with upside options.

TIA
I bleed maroon
AG
This is one I have some personal experience with - -

It MAY be worth it for you, but it may not. I was in a similar position about a decade ago, and bought one. I did a lot of analysis, and while it has underperformed my expectations, it has generally been OK, compared to the alternatives. My belief is that it's a rare and tiny group of people that can really benefit from it (mainly those already maxing out their other retirement savings sources).