Potential move to London for job. Wife will be looking for job as well.

2,087 Views | 5 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by HollywoodBQ
zaque1213
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Howdy everyone,

There is a good possibility that my wife and I will be moving to London within the next several months. I work in the insurance industry and am in the process of interviewing with some firms in London. I have some personal connections who've made recommendations on my behalf.

My wife works in the retail industry, in merchandizing. She's had a successful career in merchandizing, experience in a wide array of product lines, and a few promotions to show for it. Good news is the retail industry in London is quite large. However, we don't have any contacts in that industry, or others that may be a good fit, and so we are not sure of the best way to go about exploring opportunities for my wife beyond applying to the endless black-hole that is online career portals.

We would appreciate any tips regarding how to best go about job hunting in a new country, keeping in mind we won't initially have a network locally.

This is all very up in the air at the moment, but want to get a jump start on thinking it all through in case we get the news that we're moving.
SwissAgg
AG
There is an A&M Club in London. That would be my first point of contact.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/19761597792

There are also American Clubs:

American Women's Club

http://awclondon.org/

I would look on job boards and talk to recruiters. They are a pain in the backside,

but that is how I got my first job in Europe. You all could move without her having

a job, and she could spend time Networking. London is expensive though.

You have an advantage in that English is your mother tongue. I moved to Germany

and had to polish my language skills.
HollywoodBQ
AG
Be sure you have her work visa sorted out first.