College Kids Backpacking Europe Need Advice

4,673 Views | 39 Replies | Last: 11 yr ago by FarmersFight9
FarmersFight9
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Venice/Rome- If you are deciding between the two, that is a very tough choice. I would say do Venice now, because it is sinking into the ocean and may be gone within our lifetime (as we know it). You can go to Rome some other time (and you should). I studied in Rome for a month and it was incredible.

Venice-3 nights
-Buy a vaparetto pass. We did the 24 hour one. These are the boats that act as public transit along the canals. It is your cheapest option in terms of quick-ish transportation.
-Do not take water taxis or gondolas. They are wayyyy overpriced.
-Get on the vaparetto and take the grand canal route. This will take you around all of venice, so that you will get to see the whole city. It takes about an hour. Try and sit up front, it is way more relaxing than standing for the hour.
-When you get back to the main part of Venice, hop off the vap, and get lost in the city. Just meander around the city and see everything it has to offer. This is a very cool way to get a feel for the city.
-Go to Doge's Palace
-Frari's Church is cool
-Get a bottle of wine (or a box) and walk around the city
-See Rialto bridge and take some pix there

Florence-2-3 nights
-Eat at Napo Leone
-See Accademia
-Uffizi galleria is an okay museum
-Go up into the Duomo

Cinque Terre-2-4 nights
-Take the hikes, they are incredible.
-The hike from Riomaggiore to Mannorola is 25 minutes. It is easy and some of the best views you will have all trip.
-Take the hike from Vernazza to Monteroso. I am in terrible shape and the hiking aspect of it was pretty difficult. It is 2 hours long, mainly uphill, but the views are well worth it. I promise.
-In Vernazza, every tuesday morning they have a market, where locals pull up cars and sell stuff out of the back of them. It is great.
-Bar Centrale has some pretty good drinks