Texas A&M Football
Sponsored by

Is there a better play by play announcer than Dave South?

1,504 Views | 46 Replies | Last: 16 yr ago by weatherford
hammer11
How long do you want to ignore this user?
baylor used to have to guys that were the worst I have ever heard.

I do not mind Dave at all and his voice is easy to recognize when scanning the dial to find the game.
proudag88
In a word...

Sleeping Giant
S
yes
hedges1
AG
Mikewaters,

People around don't really have a problem with Dave's style, it's just that we'd really like to know what the hell is going on!
Frozen Concoction
I'm no fan of Dave. But, I did listen to a game or two on the radio this season, and I have to admit he was slightly less bad than what I remember from past years.
I've been hoping for many years that our athletic department, which isn't starving as far as resources go, would hire someone who sounds more professional than ol' Dave.
AggieHubby96
Like I said before, I never did care all that much for Dave over the years, but Jeebus...

if it's "touchdown OKLA---HOMAAAAAAAAA" or

"into the end zone... PISTOLS FIRING!!! TOUCHDOWN!!"

you get a little perspective.
jimscott85
AG
Like him or not, he's the voice of Aggie football. I've come to like him a lot more over the years.
spanky
AG
Bryant Gumbel is pretty good, but he's on TV.
rbtexan
S
I don't think people dislike Dave. Quite the contrary, I think most of us who have listened to him over the years enjoy the familiarity of his voice, and respect his love of and loyalty to Texas A&M.

That being said, he's not nearly as good as he once was, and I've heard plenty that were or are better. Eli Gold is great, John Ward at Tennessee was excellent before he retired, Wes Durham at Ga. Tech is solid, and perhaps the best I've ever heard, Larry Munson at Georgia. Even Joe Fisher at Vanderbilt does a better job.