I need a little help with a particular TEK for Early American History

1,473 Views | 9 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Smokedraw01
Smokedraw01
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I'm a junior high teacher and I feel like I'm fairly well-read when it comes to the time period I teach but there is a TEK(TX state standard) that I've always struggled with and I can't seem to get much of clarity on what the state is expecting for students to do.

Quote:

(3) History. The student understands the foundations of representative government in the United States. The student is expected to:
(C) describe how religion and virtue contributed to the growth of representative government in the American colonies.
As I read it, I'm assuming that the state wants students to understand religious influences on defining what our early views on government would be. For example, Rhode Island and Connecticut's more liberal policies on church membership and voting as compared to that of Pennsylvania and Massachusetts.

Quote:

(20) Citizenship. The student understands the importance of voluntary individual participation in the democratic process. The student is expected to:
(B) evaluate the contributions of the Founding Fathers as models of civic virtue;
So I'm thinking of using Jefferson's writing of the Declaration of Independence, although he speaks out against slavery in his original draft but this is one I really struggle with. Washington's service to the country but I'm not sure where to go with this one. More than likely, I'm overthinking it.

Thanks for your help.
BQ78
AG
Maybe you are overthinking, (3) screams Mayflower Compact to me.
Sapper Redux
BQ78 said:

Maybe you are overthinking, (3) screams Mayflower Compact to me.

Except the Mayflower Compact didn't become popular in the American mind until the 19th century. The Pilgrims were seen as just the lesser cousins of the Massachusetts Puritans for around 2 centuries.
Sapper Redux