Romans and the History of Feudalism

1,366 Views | 6 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Smokedraw01
Smokedraw01
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I'm a public school teacher that works with other teachers to help align their instruction to the TEKS and improve instruction. The 7th and 8th-grade teachers I work with have benefitted from the wealth of knowledge on this board, even if they aren't aware of it.

One issue I run into is that some of the teachers I work with get upset when some of the 6th-grade world cultures teachers teach Feudalism. I'm fairly agnostic to the whole argument they have that it doesn't fit into the TEKS and isn't what should be taught. The teachers and students enjoy it, so I'm going to try to make it fit the TEKS. The 6th-grade TEKS are fairly open and tend to be a little more skill based and we can make just about anything fit within them.

So my thought was to do a very short history of early feudalism to teach students cause-and-effect and the long-lasting effects of some decisions. I'm not well-read on the subject but my interests were piqued with The History of Rome podcast over Diocletian. Primarily, I would like to look at his reorganization of the Empire into the diocese and Dux system and his takeover of the guilds and the hereditary nature of those professions. Any bit of information or guidance would be appreciated on where I could take this. My thought is we'd have students look at feudalism and analyze it according to the government TEKS that deal with rule by one, few, or many and the reasons for limiting the power of the government. I'd also like them to look at the economic impacts.

I'd like to make a card sort where each card had a decision or influence for what eventually became the feudal system in Europe. Students would attempt to put the cards in order to see how it gradually took hold. I understand that feudalism could look different all over but I just want the overview.