Reconstruction dilemma....

5 Views | 44 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by VanZandt92
Sapper Redux
How long do you want to ignore this user?
VanZandt92 said:

Dr. Watson said:

I believe you can't separate the Slave Patrols from the militia in the South. And Virginia in general, and Patrick Henry in particular, were terrified of outside interference in slavery. I strongly recommend Woody Holton's book, "Forced Founders," to see the impact of Dunmore's Proclamation on Henry and the Virginian gentry going into the Revolution. They wanted assurances that any national government would leave policing of slavery to the states.

Interesting.

Watson, I'm on faculty at an ACC school, but my interest in history is a hobby. How about you?

I do early American history for a living. My focus is 17th century New England, but I have done a lot of work on the relationship between Barbadian slavery and the lower South.
Aggies Revenge
AG
Dr. Watson said:

VanZandt92 said:

Dr. Watson said:

I believe you can't separate the Slave Patrols from the militia in the South. And Virginia in general, and Patrick Henry in particular, were terrified of outside interference in slavery. I strongly recommend Woody Holton's book, "Forced Founders," to see the impact of Dunmore's Proclamation on Henry and the Virginian gentry going into the Revolution. They wanted assurances that any national government would leave policing of slavery to the states.

Interesting.

Watson, I'm on faculty at an ACC school, but my interest in history is a hobby. How about you?

I do early American history for a living. My focus is 17th century New England, but I have done a lot of work on the relationship between Barbadian slavery and the lower South.
So, you are going to help me prep for prelims, right???
ja86
AG
Dr. Watson said:

ja86 said:

Can you produce references for the 2nd admendment and slave patrols?