Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Getting more serious about cycling

34,251 Views | 365 Replies | Last: 11 days ago by TurboVelo
wealeat09
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm basically a cycling noob. I've had a single speed Retrospec Harper for a few years, but haven't done much more than the occasional workout mixed in with come light commuting.

It's a super cheap bike but I've started to put in some mileage on it in the last few months and I've started to look at spending some money to get something that would allow me to do routes with more elevation gain. Obviously a single speed is a killer on hills.

I've been averaging about 15 mph on my single speed with about 500 feet of gain over 10 miles or so, which I feel like is pretty solid. I really just want to get faster (I already have) and be able to cover more mileage in a shorter amount of time.

Anyway, I wanted to give some background before I asked what should my next steps be? I'm averaging well over 50 miles a week and want to do much more.

I'm in East Dallas, so I do the White Rock look often. I've thought about a gravel bike so I could do the Trinity Levee and expand my riding options but I'm keeping my options open.

I know I want a power meter. Thinking pedals. And a new bike.

Hoping I can get to a better level without spending over $2,000.

And I know right now is a horrible time to try to buy a bike, but I want to decide now so I can at least get into the queue. I also plan on going to some bike shops in the area, but I figured I'd launch a trial balloon here.

Thanks in advance.
htxag09
AG
A new bike like you're describing, or how I'm interpreting, will be tough for $2,000, IMO.

A power meter alone will be $300+, add pedals, and other random accessories like bottle cages, your budget for the bike is under $1,500.