Adventures with a 15 y/o high-maintenance swedish wagon

30,124 Views | 243 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Tim Weaver
Dill-Ag13
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I thought I'd post this up so that you guys could laugh at my pain and mock my misery. But also to shed light on what it looks like to own a 15 y/o European car that we all regularly mock as being ridiculously unreliable and expensive to maintain. I'm pretty handy and can tackle most minor repairs including fluid changes (think stuff that takes less than 3 hours for an amateur: brakes, suspension, engine bay sensors, etc.) but I don't touch certain things as I have limited experience with them including: clutch, trans, diff, drive train, timing belt, etc.

I've owned my V70R for a little over 4 months now and it's been eventful already. I bought the car back in May and have been enjoying it. It's a fun car to drive if not an order of magnitude more complicated than the 07 WRX that it replaced.

I had a wonderful 2 week honeymoon before the problems began...

Not sure how updated I'll keep this, we'll see how it goes.
Dill-Ag13
AG
June 4 - my left fog light decided it no longer wanted to live and promptly detached itself and hurled itself across an intersection. As I pulled over and waited for a chance to retrieve it, a dually "thump thumped" right over it. I bought a pair of HIDs and upon installing them, realized that the right side fog light was barely fastened to the bumper (missing 3 of 4 fasteners). I bought the fasteners and buttoned the HID ones in. Problem solved. $150 spent.
Dill-Ag13
AG
June 8 - had some fun installing 3rd row seats in the R. Car now seats 7!

Dill-Ag13
AG
August 5 - I kept experiencing what felt like total power loss (for a fraction of a second) at 50% throttle. It felt like a fuel delivery issue to me and after some googling I determined it was the fuel pressure sensor. I replaced it and the problem has not reappeared. $50 spent, repaired myself.

Dill-Ag13
AG