That weird city in East Texas

56,493 Views | 145 Replies | Last: 10 mo ago by Bill Bigfoot
jickyjack1
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AsburyAg said:

Reminds me of the time many years ago when I was a freshman and hanging out in a friend's dorm room. Another friend of hers stops by. In the conversation my friend says, "AsburyAg, you're from somewhere in East Texas, aren't you? My other friend here is, too."

Me: O really? Where are you from?
Her: Athens. You?
Me: Henderson.
Her (irritatingly): Oh.
Me: Why do you say it like that?
Her: Henderson. That's where all the rich snobs live.
Me (Not that I felt this way, but for once in my life, I was equipped with a good comeback): That's all right honey. We figure the only thing that lives in Athens is poor white trash anyway.

Needless to say, our conversation pretty much ended after that.

To further confuse things, Athens is the county seat of Henderson County.

Both Henderson and Athens have money in them.

I've posted this before so won't belabor it, but three little boys grew up contemporaries in Athens who each, in natural resource-related fields, attained world-class wealth: Sid Richardson, Clint Murchison and Wofford Cain (remember Cain Hall?).
Reginald Cousins
S
Shelton98 said:

Reginald Cousins said:

YouBet said:

Kilgore on this list doesn't make sense. It has a popular junior college and a relatively significant past in comparison to everyone else mentioned. And is essentially a suburb of Longview at this point.

I would agree with Gilmer. Growing up in Longview that was always the town we categorized this way.
Agree. Kilgore is pretty diverse and normalized. But then again I've been here all my life.

I've been in Kilgore for about 15 years..... it's by far the best place I've ever lived... and I've been around a little.
It is kind of pleasant. I've been here 32 years.

What's your age if you don't mind me asking?
Shelton98
AG