Cimarron golf course closing down?

5,890 Views | 29 Replies | Last: 10 mo ago by Duckhook
PJYoung
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I haven't played there in years but wow, what a blow to homeowners.

I also heard that a group of 10 or 15 SPI homeowners bought out their course and that's why they did the greens renovation last fall. I haven't played there since they did it but I heard it was really nice now.
carl spacklers hat
That's crazy! I guess all the carteleros who've set up shop at Cimarron don't play golf.

As far as SPI, I played there with a work associate back in late April/Early May and the greens were in fantastic shape. I can also comment on Treasure Hills CC as well. Those greens are in great shape, too, as is most of the course with the exception of #18 fairway, which is a goat path. Don't know why they can't keep it in good condition.
People think I'm an idiot or something, because all I do is cut lawns for a living.
RGV AG
AG
Wow are you serious, I looked on the interwebs and couldn't find anything about that. Did you get any details on the why's and the haps afterwards?

That golf course has had an illustrious, odd, and almost cursed existence. There have been what, 3 bankruptcies associated with that course and club?

Pretty obvious that golf isn't what it once was in the RGV, and some might say it just never was.
RGV AG
AG
https://myrgv.com/publications/the-monitor/2022/07/28/cimarron-country-club-to-shutter-its-doors-amid-lawsuits-defamation/

Found it, wow the club house and social deal too. That is for sure going to impact a lot of the homeowners out there. I guess whoever owns it can make it a new development. Back in the day the golf and club activities were about the only attractive feature of living out there.

They had a bunch of Jap and Korean maquila guys living out there for years and years, and they played golf and drank like fishes, I think there is nowhere near the amount of them any more.
OXDL45
AG