West Texas
Sponsored by

thoughts on moving to Big Bend area? - Alpine, Marfa, Marathon, Ft Davis...

23,673 Views | 50 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by danw95
danw95
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
My wife & I love visiting the Big Bend area, from Ft Davis to Marathon. We're seriously thinking about uprooting and moving there with our two kids (elementary age). We're solidly middle class here, but think we can lower our lifestyle a bit to live off my salary and a smaller job for her.

We thought Alpine might be better for jobs and houses than Marathon, which we love but doesn't seem reasonable as a place to raise a family. And Marfa we love, but being trendier, we thought that we could get more for our buck elsewhere.

I'm a business analyst, wife is a admin asst, so I think we're flexible on the jobs we can take, if we can find one.

But I thought I'd ask here for thoughts and opinions to get some reality tossed in, to maybe splash some cold water on the ideal life we picture there after a vacation vs actually living there.
zsh0
AG
My wife and I have tossed around the same idea. Her family lives in between Alpine and Marfa.

We love it out there, but the realities would be that 1) decent jobs are very hard to come by and 2) cost of living isn't as cheap as you think. With Far West Texas being remote as it is, cost increases in daily necessities offset some of the savings in restaurants and housing costs.

For jobs, your best bet will be something opening up at SRSU or trying your hand at opening up a small business. There just aren't many $50K+ salaried jobs in FWT.
EMc77
AG
IF I was retired and didn't want to travel to A&M regularly, I would like Ft. Davis. Alpine would be next. We did a lot of houses in the Marfa/Alpine/Ft.Davis area in the 80s and I always liked it there.
SW AG80
AG