Austin
Sponsored by

tech-bro theme park

2,232 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by Keeper of The Spirits
HECUBUS
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Texas Monthly dubs Austin its 2023 'Bum Steer of the Year'

https://www.texasmonthly.com/news-politics/2023-bum-steer-of-year-austin/
AG
All fair points.

If I didn't have such a good social group here, I'd probably move back to San Antonio. Much more affordable and laid back, which I like.

Sadly, I work in Tech and am part of the problem.
Howdy Dammit
AG
Name a city that has stayed the same. All of Texas has had a massive influx. I hate it, but it is what it is.
PeekingDuck
AG
"The Austin of 2022 isn't just different, it's unrecognizable."
Howdy Dammit
AG
PeekingDuck said:

"The Austin of 2022 isn't just different, it's unrecognizable."

Should it be recognizable compared to 1980? I guess I just don't get it. Businesses moved in. Wealthy non artsy people live here now. No one could possibly believe one of the 4 large cities in one of the largest states was gonna stay quaint and whacky forever.
500,000ags
AG
At least the tech bros live here. On the east side, the weekenders absolutely make Austin feel like a theme park.
HECUBUS
AG
It was great being young in Austin and many of us tech-bros flocked here because Austin is in Texas, the cost of living was low and there were tech jobs. When I visited my middle older brother during his first year at tu, I knew I would live here.

As time goes by, you trade the downtown bars and music festivals for lake and hill country time. Then you trade the lake and hill country time for little league. We have approximately 17 months, two weeks and two days until the last one gets out of high school. No idea what's next. Lots of travel and plan to keep a footprint here unless we find something better.

Through good fortune and lucky timing, none of the many things people complain about have been an issue for us. As my dad used to say, "It's better to be lucky than good".