Hilton renovation

5,212 Views | 26 Replies | Last: 8 mo ago by MyNameIsJeff
BaitShack
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Go easy on me, I'm not into construction. Is this scaffolding or is it decorative?

BrazosWifi
I think it is decorative. I have seen similar on other hotels while traveling.
Sponsor Message: http://BrazosWiFi.com | Fast and reliable internet for the Brazos Valley | info@BrazosWiFi.com | 979-999-7000
EliteElectric
It's certainly hideous, but the attachment points to the building look permanent, so maybe it's architectural. If so yuck.
AggieBaseball06
AG
I assumed they were putting balconies on the rooms but I'm no engineer or architect.
AggiePhil
AG
AggieBaseball06 said:

I assumed they were putting balconies on the rooms but I'm no engineer or architect.
No, that'd require cutting doors into the walls of each and every room, which they aren't doing. It's basically just a decorative addition to alter the facade.
AggieBaseball06
AG
According to an Eagle article from a few months ago, they are "building a steel structure to add depth."
BaitShack
AG
MyNameIsJeff
AG
That's one expensive galvanized steel scaffold.
Captn_Ag05
AG
So far this is definitely a case of the actual looking nowhere near as nice as the plans.
Bad Poster
Captn_Ag05 said:

So far this is definitely a case of the actual looking nowhere near as nice as the plans.

The plans look like **** too? Who thought this looked good?
meezermom
My daughter refers to the Hilton as "the cruise ship" - I don't think there's any way they can make that place look better.
agnerd
AG
If they're going for any environmental certifications, they will probably get credit for shading the windows and reducing energy costs.
Also, they're following current architecture trends of lots of horizontal and vertical lines like every new fast food joint.

It will probably look dated in 10-20 years when preferences change again.
MyNameIsJeff
AG