Outdoors
Sponsored by

Calling mountain lion.

2,633 Views | 29 Replies | Last: 1 day ago by txrancher69
1991sir
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I have some experience calling in coyotes and bobcats. There has been a mountain lion sighting close to me and I'm interested in trying to call it in. Any advice?
wink1989
AG
Oooh boy, I'm in!!!!
country
AG
Lions will come to any calls that cats will. The two biggest hurdles in calling a lion is it has to be in the area when you call and it has to be hungry when you call. Much easier to get hounds on it within 12 or so hours of a sighting or catch it with steel trap.
brew82
I'd try "Here kitty, kitty, kitty!" first.
1991sir
What are the odds it's still in the area after 48 hours?
Dirty-8-thirty Ag
AG
Green Machine on here has called one in with a foxpro, we went to HS together. I have heard of it happening but he is the only guy I personally know that has called one in.
AgResearch
AG
Have you tried calling the names of all the yellow labs in the area or shake a bowl of kibble? I'd start there.
txrancher69
AG
They can be called in. Gary Roberson, owner Burnham Bros. predator calls in Menard, has brought several in on his TV show, Carnivore. Cats were cautious but came straight in to the call, obviously attracted by both the sound and movement. In one case a young female actually went up to the call and smelled it closely. He had placed it 40 yards or so in front of him while he was concealed. The cat finally walked away but came back when he altered the volume with his hand held remote. Mountain lions have such large territories I think success is mainly a matter of being lucky enough to have one in hearing distance and in a hunting mode.
So three conspiracy theorists walk into a bar.................You can't convince me that's a coincidence.
country
AG
1991sir said:

Very low. Hounds won't be able to get on a scent either.
AnScAggie
AG
brew82 said:

I'd try "Here kitty, kitty, kitty!" first.