Outdoors
Sponsored by

Tank Spillway Washed Out

1,976 Views | 14 Replies | Last: 15 days ago by swampstander
Watchful Ag
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Freestone County

Heavy rains from earlier this week caused the spillway on our tank dam to collapse. This spot on the dam had previously failed 15-20 years ago, but we finally had it fixed by a local dozer contractor about 1.5 years ago.

This was the first time the repaired dam faced high water levels, and unfortunately, it didn't hold up. The spillway was topped with large white rocks to combat erosion, as you can see in one of the attached images.

Some of my family members think the contractor should repair it at no cost, while others believe we should expect to pay again. Before I reach out, I'd love to hear your thoughts. I'm not very experienced with this kind of project, so I'm looking to manage my expectations based on yalls advice.

And what a bummer too, because it created a nice pinch point to watch cruising bucks during the rut

DVM97
AG
I'd expect to pay again….Mother Nature ultimately rules. Unless the job wasn't completed or the dam wasn't "repaired" to your specs, I'd say that it washing out again was just bad timing.
CS78
To me, it kinda depends on what conversations were had with the operator. Did he give options on how to keep it from happening? Elevation changes, drainage basin, soil type, overflow capacity, and how much you wanted to spend should have all been considered before deciding how the work was done.

Just from the few pictures, I suspect your riprap overflow was too narrow to handle the volume of flow.
Mas89
AG
Maybe you need a couple big pipes towards the top of the spillway to lower the level and pressure on the dam.

A cousin has a setup like that outside Henderson with similar looking dirt. Maybe two 36" pipes.
SanAntoneAg
AG
Damn!
Gig 'em! '90
AnScAggie
AG
Hard for me to blame the dozer operator based on the pics. Sucks, but sometimes Mother Nature wins.