Outdoors
Sponsored by

Deer Lease

4,054 Views | 15 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by DrEvazanPhD
TH36
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I assume this has been posted a thousand times on here but the search function seems to be a weird one on here. I'm still new to navigating this site.

Anyways, who's a member of a deer lease and how many times do you guys see a open spot come available? Looking out west. I live out towards Dripping Springs. Would like to hunt anywhere from Junction, San Angelo, Brady, Sonora, Rock Springs, etc...

I don't own a camper so it would be nice if it had a cabin of some sorts, would also be nice if it's wife friendly. She doesn't care to pull a trigger but I sold her of the idea of me getting on a lease that she can go with me and get out of town.

Willing to spend up to $2500-$3K. 20-21 season, just trying to get a head start on things...I know how hard these things are to come by.

mbanker36@yahoo.com or if you post up some info on here I'll contact you.
FSGuide
Should be a lot of openings out west around Sonora, Ozona etc as long as you don't want to see a ton of deer every hunt.
K_P
AG
How long until populations recover? Couple years? Decade?
TH36
FSGuide said:

Should be a lot of openings out west around Sonora, Ozona etc as long as you don't want to see a ton of deer every hunt.

I thought the anthrax breakout was further south than that?

Well if that causes spots to open up I almost wonder if it wouldn't be worth it to get on. How bad did it hurt the population?
TAMUallen
AG
Anthrax hit the southern half of Crockett county (ozona). Our ranch lost some deer, cattle and sheep but I'm still seeing lots of deer. There were 8 that came into the feeder Saturday night
FSGuide
TH36 said:

FSGuide said:

I thought the anthrax breakout was further south than that?

Well if that causes spots to open up I almost wonder if it wouldn't be worth it to get on. How bad did it hurt the population?