Outdoors
Sponsored by

Pipe Fence Painting

23,432 Views | 22 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by CactusThomas
Sandyb
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Greetings....
I am preparing to re-paint some pipe fencing, perhaps old oil pipe, but not sure.
It is currently a white that is pretty badly oxidized, with rust spots and chipping.
From internet searches I have decided to scrape and use ospho on the rust spots.
My question to the forum members is once I have prepped the pipe, what paint should I use, do I need a primer?
Thanks for any suggestions in advance.
Sandy
rancher1953
Painting that pipe fence unless it is new pipe is like Don Quixote and the windmills. I have 75 acres of pipe fence all made out of used drill pipe. My sons and I have been painting on that fence now since 1990. It will look good for a couple of years then it starts to fade, chip and rust. The problem is the used drill pipe. When it was used in the oil field, numerous chemicals and fluids went through it and now it is corroded from the inside out. You will put a lot of money in that fence and it will still look bad after a few years. I have used some of the best paint and primer money can buy and still no luck. Yes I even used ospho with no success. If it is used drill pipe you are wasting your time and money.
SweaterVest
AG
Agreed.

My advice is pressure wash it to knock the chips off, paint with a mitt, repeat in a few years when it starts to look bad again. Bonus points- pay a high schooler to do it for you.
Yesterday
AG
I painted Pipe fence one summer as a teenager. I'd rather do a tour in Iraq than paint fence again.
Apache
AG
I painted a set of cattle pens by myself one summer over the span of a couple of weeks as a kid.
I think the old man did it just to see if he could break me.
BrazosBull
AG
I am interested in this also. Does anyone have actual answers / advice in response to the OP's question concerning primer and paint ?
src94
AG