Outdoors
Sponsored by

Another Boat Advice Thread..

4,468 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by ought1ag
osmosis ag
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I'm looking to get an 18' to 20' center console. I want something that's pretty versatile when it comes to different types of water. Most of the use will be on a lake, however, definitely want to feel comfortable in the bays. Since the only boat I've had was a 1982 Bass Tracker (abused on Baffin Bay, Port O'Conner and Aransas Bay a few times), I'm no expert on the type of boat I'm looking for. I'm trying to decide, aluminum (G3, Xpress, Crestliner, Lowe) or fiberglass (Mako, Sportsman, Edgewater)....below 30k is preferable. Any advice is appreciated.
MouthBQ98
AG
You'll have a mind boggling amount of choices. Frankly I find a generic center console bay boat with enough seating options and front/rear deck space to be s versatile compromise. I have a very small one at 15.5 feet and I've had it everywhere from small creeks chasing white bass up to miles out in the Gulf of Mexico. To me, a reliable efficient outboard is the starting point. A good welded aluminum hull will be fine, as will a fiberglass one.
Tumble Weed
If you are wanting to run in Texas bays, you might want to look at Texas builders. Many have been building them for a long time and have tuned their boats for the draft issues that we have on the Texas Coast.

We are running a 22 Majek Xtreme ( they make a 20 ). The Majek RFL is in your price range as well if you want to run skinny.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Dargel, Haynie, or Mowdy. I have noticed that many of the boats on Somerville are bay boats now instead of bass boats.
Post removed:
by user
osmosis ag
I've been on 2 guide boats that were Majek and was very impressed, but assumed they were out of my price range. Thanks for all of your suggestions. Hope to be on the water by the end of the summer.
trip98
AG