Outdoors
Sponsored by

Buying land - should I use an LLC?

40,236 Views | 26 Replies | Last: 12 yr ago by Cagey and Swift
Cagey and Swift
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I am planning to buy a small parcel of land from a relative, that has no structure on it. It has been recommended to me that I form an LLC to buy the land. That it gives me financial protection against liability, as well as some tax advantages.

The cost of the land is under 20k. The cost of forming an LLC is probably over $500. Then I have the yearly cost of the LLC.

Eventually I play to build a vacation home on the land, which I might or might not rent out (VRBO). But that is years away.

Can yall tell me the pros and cons of going the LLC route?

[This message has been edited by Cagey and Swift (edited 11/8/2011 8:14p).]
AgLA06
AG
I'm not a lawyer, so this is not legal advice. I do have a business that is an LLC, but rely on my CPA for the accounting. Below is how I understand things work.

Depending on who forms the company it will probably be about $500-$1K for legal formation and filing. You then have to get your federal tax ID and State Tax ID taken care of. Neither is hard or expensive and can be done by the internet. You will have to have this to create a bank account and be legal. You only pay federal taxes on money distributed to members and on state taxes if in come is over $1mil. However, you can claim tax breaks for capital invested from you to the company in the first year (buying the place).

As far as it being an advantage over just buying it yourself, I don't know. It seems like you would be forced to sell either the property to the next generation or the LLC in order to pass it down which would incur more costs.
Todd 02
AG
I often hear of people starting a trust to purchase land, but have never heard of anyone forming an LLC unless there were intentions of using the property to generate income.