Anyone have any photography or camera questions?

423,308 Views | 3566 Replies | Last: 2 mo ago by Bregxit
marcel ledbetter
How long do you want to ignore this user?
That's good to know. I can't afford the Olympus equivalent and I'm fine with a manual landscape lens.
n_touch
Coming in as a complete newbie to photography. I work with restaurants and want to help with getting some pictures for them of dishes and such. Where is a good place to start on learning how to work the camera and understand all the different functions. I have a Canon EOS Rebel with a couple different lenses.
Guitarsoup
AG
n_touch said:

Coming in as a complete newbie to photography. I work with restaurants and want to help with getting some pictures for them of dishes and such. Where is a good place to start on learning how to work the camera and understand all the different functions. I have a Canon EOS Rebel with a couple different lenses.
This book: https://amzn.to/45bHQjT

Then hop on Youtube and search for what you want to learn.

Taking great pictures isn't something you are going to learn overnight. Lots of trial and error.
TRD-Ferguson
AG
I bought that book based on your recommendation several years ago. What a game changer! I'm a complete amateur who photographs mostly landscapes and every now and then wildlife. Book is worth every penny.

Guitarsoup, the book and this thread are amazing!
C@LAg
curious for a ballpark cost to have a lense professioanlly cleaned.

Something large (about the size of a little piece of glitter) finally worked its way into the interior of one of my go-to lenses, and seems to be statically attached to the glass inside so it cannot be bumped out of the way.

approx how much does it cost to have a lense professioanlly disassembled/cleaned?

or is this something that someone can do with a little pre-work (e.g., set up secure/airtight light box and disassemble in there and dab teh piece of gumk to remove it.
it is just in the inside lense element
Koko Chingo
AG